• Date of creation: 9th August 1974
  • Protective Figure: National Park.
  • Autonomous Community:The Canary Islands.
  • Province: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.
  • Island: Lanzarote.
  • Municipalities: Yaiza y Tinajo.
  • Telephone number: Visitors Centre 928 118 042; Administrative Offices 928 118 035, 928 118 049.
  • Surface of the park: 51.07 km2.
  • Cultural values: Traditional agriculture in rofe. The use of the dromedary for agricultural work.
  • Natural Values: Volcanology. Malpaíses (badlands), volcanic cones, calderas, Montañas del Fuego. Thermal anomalies. Natural processes of colonization of flora and fauna species.

Other data:

  • Supranational Networks: Natura 2000 (ZEC/ZEPA Timanfaya National Park) and Biosphere Reserve (UNESCO).
  • From the 1st January 2010, the management of the National Park of Timanfaya corresponds exclusively to the Autonomous Community of the Canary Islands.
  • ROYAL DECREE 1550/2009, 9th October, about the expansion of the functions and services of the State Administration transferred to the Autonomous Community of the Canary Islands, in terms of the conservation of nature (National Parks of Teide, Timanfaya, Caldera de Taburiente and Garajonay). (BOE, No. 270 of 9th November 2009).
  • Decree 226/2009, 3rd December, from the President, by which it is assigned to the Ministry of Environment and Spatial Planning the management of National Parks, transferred by Royal Decree 1550/2009 on 9th October.


  • Declaration: Decree 2615/1974, 9th August, about the creation of the National Park of Timanfaya..
  • Modification: Law 6/81, 25th March, for the reclassification of the Timanfaya National Park.
  • Policy development: ROYAL DECREE 1621/90, 14th December, approving the Master Plan for the Use and Management (PRUG) of the National Park of Timanfaya.